CIA (Certified Internal Auditor)

Course Description

The Certified Internal Auditor® (CIA®) designation is the only globally accepted certification for internal auditors and remains the standard by which individuals demonstrate their competency and professionalism in the internal auditing field. Candidates leave the program enriched with educational experience, information, and business tools that can be applied immediately in any organization or business environment.


The Certified Internal Auditor® (CIA®) exam tests a candidate’s knowledge of current internal auditing practices and understanding of internal audit issues, risks and remedies. The exam is offered in three parts.
Part 1- Essentials of Internal Auditing 125 questions | 2.5 Hours (150 minutes)
The revised CIA exam Part 1 is well aligned with The IIA’s International Professional Practices Framework (IPPF) and includes six domains covering the foundation of internal auditing; independence and objectivity; proficiency and due professional care; quality assurance and improvement programs; governance, risk management, and control; and fraud risk. Part One tests candidates’ knowledge, skills, and abilities related to the International Standards for the Professional Practice of Internal Auditing, particularly the Attribute Standards (series 1000, 1100, 1200, and 1300) as well as Performance Standard 2100.
Part 2- Practice of Internal Auditing 100 questions | 2.0 Hours (120 minutes)
The CIA exam part 2 includes four domains focused on managing the internal audit activity, planning the engagement, performing the engagement, and communicating engagement results and monitoring progress. Part 2 tests candidates’ knowledge, skills, and abilities particularly related to Performance Standards (series 2000, 2200, 2300, 2400, 2500, and 2600) and current internal audit practices.
Part 3- Audit Business Knowledge for Internal Auditing 100 questions | 2.0 Hours (120 minutes)
The CIA exam Part 3 includes four domains focused on business acumen, information security, information technology, and financial management. Part 3 is designed to test candidates’ knowledge, skills, and abilities particularly as they relate to these core business concepts.

Who should attend?

CIA candidates must meet the following eligibility requirements for education, character and work experience:

  • Education: CIA candidates must hold a bachelor’s degree (or higher degree) or its educational equivalent from an accredited college-level institution; 
  • Character: Candidates must exhibit high moral and professional character and must submit a Character Reference Form signed by a CIA, CGAP, CCSA, CFSA or the candidate’s supervisor;
  • Work Experience: CIA candidates must obtain a minimum of 24 months of internal auditing experience or its equivalent. A Master’s degree can substitute for 12 of the required 24 months.
  • Candidates may apply to the program and sit for the exam prior to satisfying the professional experience requirement, but will not be certified until all program requirements have been met.

Candidates must pass all 3 parts and satisfy the experience.

Eligibility Period

Candidates needs to complete the program certification process within four years of application approval. If a candidate has not completed the certification process within four years, all fees and exam parts will be forfeited.


      • Upon completion of the training, the participants will be able to pass the computer based international exam of CIA.
      • Course Language:  English
      • Course Duration: 40 hours (per each level)

      Contact us